• Implementation of NH Information and Communication Technology Literacy Standards

    NH ICT Literacy standards are based on National Education Technology Standards for Students (ISTE NETS-S). At FRES, we have developed ICT literacy goals by grade level and the students demonstrate their progression through these goals by keeping an e-portfolio of their best digital work. The students will maintain this portfolio through 12th grade.  The goals are based on the 6 major categories of ICT Literacy including:

    • Technology Operations and Concepts,
    • Digital Citizenship,
    • Creativity and Innovation,
    • Communication and Collaboration,
    • Research and Information Fluency, and
    • Critical Thinking, Problem Solving and Decision Making.

    Integration of technology into many learning opportunities is a key component of the technology program at FRES. Students are encouraged to learn, create and communicate using technology. Smart board technology is prevalent throughout the school where students and teachers engage in learning with these interactive tools. In addition, students have access to computers and other devices as well as software that promotes engaging, independent, and differentiated learning.

    Students use software tools like IXL for math, Accelerated Reader, Spelling City and Brainpop to reinforce and further develop core competencies. In addition they learn to use tools like Google Drive applications and many other web-based tools to collaborate, communicate and demonstrate their learning.  

    For more information on the NH Standards, visit the ICT Literacy Toolkit.

    For more information on technology in the district, visit the District Technology Plan.